Ozeankind® e.V.
Image default

Ozeankind in Düsseldorf

The 6th. Plastikrebell Cleanup – Ozeankind cleaning up in Düsseldorf.

It had been clear to us for a long time that we would like to organize an event in our secret home town Düsseldorf. We could not have guessed 12 months ago that the time would come already now! After consultation with the Environmental authoritities and the AWISTA Düsseldorf … on April 29th Ozeankind will be in Düsseldorf to pick up wild rubbish on the Rhine banks,

The Rhine in particular is a risk for all the rubbish that people forget. Although AWISTA carries out regular clean-up operations & several rubbish bins are available on the Rhine promenade, we have been able to collect quite a lot. But one thing at a time.

On the last weekend of April, the 28th and 29th it has been our 6th international Plasticrebel cleanup already taking place. We have started in November 2017 while we were on the tiny island called Koh Phayamin the Andaman Sea. Since then we have been calling every month to collect rubbish together and thus make even more noise about the worldwide plastic waste problem. At the same time we would like to raise the awareness of every reader/collector with regard to their own plastic consumption.

We were active in the Rhineland.

As I just mentioned, the Rhine is the second longest river in Germany, the most water-rich North Sea tributary and one of the busiest waterways in the world. So it was crystal clear: we will be near the Rhin on both days! On Saturday we have been in Monheim, a small city directly on the Rihne. A spot just 500 metres long. It is still and again and again quite frightening how much wild plastic waste we can find in Germany. Hard plastic particles washed up by the flood, old milk cartons from Poland (?), the odd plastic package and shoes.

We found all of this more or less directly on the shore. But even at the roadside, one does not find less: cigarette butts, bottles, candy wrappers and whole barbecue remnants. Disposable grill, meat packaging and spirit in the bottle. Again and again we look at each other in disbelief and ask WHY? It’s not so hard to take all your stuff home again. Having a barbeque outside is wonderful, everyone can and should enjoy it, but honestly – you throw your garbage in the trash can at home, in your own apartment. Not too hard.

It´s a fact: “The concentrations of microplastics in the Rhine are thus in the range of the highest concentrations of the waters investigated worldwide to date”, Patricia Holm from the Department of Environmental Sciences at the University of Basel. The Rhine, for example, transports 191 million particles every day by detour into the Atlantic, which adds up to ten tons per year. However, the values could be significantly higher, because “only” the surface was examined.

Everything that lies on the shore and, above all, remains there, becomes micro-plastic over time, ends up in the river and later in the North Sea or the Atlantic Ocean. We Germans are therefore by no means innocent of the plastic in the sea. Even if the fewest of us throw a plastic bag directly and intentionally into the river.

Cleanup Time – Ozeankind in Düsseldorf

After a call on our Facebook page and the organizational work with the city authorities, it was time for us to meet at the Tonhalle on Sunday at 2 pm. 10 nice people came to support us, among others the first unpacked shop in Düsseldorf,the FLinse, was there – together we went to the Oberkassler Rhine side. Armed with garbage bags and grab tongs. After 2 hours we were able to collect 115.7 kg of waste.

Also here the picture is a similar one as the day before in Monheim. Abandoned barbecue areas, a lot of empty beer and alcohol bottles, whole or in shards all over the stones. Always good for dogs or children. Not. But also chip bags, handkerchiefs, plastic packaging, coffee to-go cups were collected. In the end we were all happy about sunshine and our contribution.

Waste on the Rhine

Where else did people take action?

Aber wir waren ja nicht alleine fleißig. We received pictures and news from 9 countries. Even in the beautiful South Seas people took action: impersonated by leavingcomfortzone. So Ozeankind has been simultaneously active in Bali, Portugal, Greece, France, Switzerland, the Netherlands, Austria, Switzerland and of course in different places in Germany. Together we were able to remove 763.89 kg of rubbish from nature during these two days and disposed of it in the best possible way. Once again a complete success and without all of you this would not be possible. THANKS!

Ozeankind in DüsseldorfOzeankind in Düsseldorf

After the CleanUp is before the next one

Of course there will be a new date in May. Together with the Travel Festival we will collect garbage at the Kemnader See on Sunday with the support of blue:beach and the Surfschule Westufer. Click here to get to the Facebook event. Click and be part of it. You will find a HOWTO in the description of our event.

 

Ähnliche Beiträge

Ozeankind CleanUp in Germany

Marina

Ozeankind CleanUp April – Edition 15 – waste all around

Micha

3rd Ozeankind CleanUp in January

Micha

Ozeankind® e.V.
Image default

Ozeankind in Düsseldorf

Das 6. Plastikrebell Cleanup – Ozeankind sammelt Plastikmüll in Düsseldorf.

Für uns war schon lange klar, dass wir am liebsten auch mal in unserer Heimat Düsseldorf ein CleanUp veranstalten möchten. Das es jetzt schon soweit sein sollte,  konnten wir vor 12 Monaten nicht erahnen. Nach Rücksprache mit dem Umweltamt & der AWISTA Düsseldorf war der Aufräumort klar: am 29.04 ist Ozeankind in Düsseldorf, um am Rhein Müll zu sammeln.

Gerade der Rhein ist ein Risiko für all den Müll, den die Menschen so vergessen. Obwohl die AWISTA regelmäßige Säuberungsaktionen durchführt und mehrere Mülleimer an der Rheinuferpromenade bereit stehen, haben wir so Einiges sammeln können. Aber der Reihe nach.

Am letzten April-Wochenende, dem 28. und 29. fand bereits unser sechstes, weltweites Plastikrebell CleanUp statt. Im November 2017 sind wir damit gestartet, damals waren wir selbst auf der kleinen thailändischen Insel Koh Phayam. Seitdem rufen wir jeden Monat auf, gemeinsam Müll zu sammeln und somit noch mehr Lärm um die weltweite Plastikmüll-Problematik zu machen. Gleichzeitig möchten wir dadurch das Bewusstsein im Bezug auf den eigenen Plastikkonsum bei jedem Leser/Sammler erhöhen.

Wir waren im Rheinland aktiv

Ich hatte es ja eben schon angedeutet, der Rhein ist in Deutschland der zweitlängste Fluss, der wasserreichste Nordseezufluss und eine der verkehrsreichsten Wasserstraßen der Welt. Für uns war damit klar, wir sammeln an beiden Tagen am Rheinufer. Am Samstag war ein maximal 500 Meter langer Abschnitt in Monheim am Rhein fällig. Es ist schon erschreckend was wir in Deutschland alles finden. Vom Hochwasser angeschwemmte Hartplastikteilchen, alte Milchpackungen aus Polen (?), die eine oder andere Plastikverpackung und einzelne Schuhe.

Das liegt alles mehr oder weniger direkt am Ufer. Doch am Wegesrand findet man nicht weniger: Zigarettenstummel, Flaschen, Bonbonpapier und ganze Grillüberreste inkl. Einweggrill, Fleischverpackungen und Spiritus in der Flasche. Immer wieder gucken wir uns dann ungläubig an und fragen WARUM?! es ist doch nicht so schwer seinen ganzen Kram wieder mit nach Hause zu nehmen. Grillen im Freien ist doch wunderbar, kann und soll jeder auch geniessen, aber ehrlich – seinen Müll wirft man doch auch zu Hause, in der eigenen Wohnung in den Mülleimer. So schwer ist das nicht.

Fakt ist: „Die Konzentrationen von Mikroplastik im Rhein liegen damit im Bereich der höchsten Konzentrationen der bisher weltweit untersuchten Gewässer“, Patricia Holm vom Departement Umweltwissenschaften der Universität Basel. So transportiert der Rhein jeden Tag 191 Millionen Partikel auf Umwegen in den Atlantik, was sich auf zehn Tonnen im Jahr summiere. Jedoch können die Werte deutlich höher sein, denn es wurde „nur“ die Oberfläche untersucht.

All das was am Ufer liegt und vor allem liegen bleibt, wird mit der Zeit zu Mikroplastik, landet im Fluss und später in der Nordsee bzw. im Atlantik. Wir Deutschen sind deshalb keinesfalls unschuldig am Plastik im Meer. Auch wenn die Wenigsten von uns eine Plastiktüte direkt und absichtlich in den Fluss schmeißen.

Cleanup Time – Ozeankind in Düsseldorf

Nach einem Aufruf auf unserer Facebook-Seite und dem Organisatorischen mit der Stadt, hieß es für uns Treffpunkt Tonhalle am Sonntag um 14 Uhr. Und es kamen tatsächlich 10 liebe Menschen, u.a. war auch der erste Unverpackt Laden in Düsseldorf, die FLinse, mit dabei und gemeinsam ging es auf die Oberkassler Rheinseite. Bewaffnet mit Müllsäcken und Greifzangen. Nach 2 Stunden und einer überschaubaren, bearbeiteten  Fläche haben wir gemeinsam 115,7 kg Müll sammeln können.

Auch hier ist das Bild ein ähnliches wie am Vortag in Monheim. Verlassene Grillplätze, eine Menge an leeren Bier- und Alkoholflaschen, ganz oder in Scherben überall auf den Steinen verteilt. Immer gut für Hunde oder Kinder. Aber auch Chipstüten, Taschentücher, Plastikverpackungen, Coffe- to-go Becher wurden gesammelt. Am Ende waren wir alle glücklich über Sonnenschein und unseren geleisteten Beitrag.

  Müll am Rhein

Wo wurde sonst noch gesammelt?

Aber wir waren ja nicht alleine fleißig. Es erreichten uns aus 9 Ländern Bilder und Nachrichten. Selbst in der traumhaften Südsee wurde durch leavingcomfortzone gesammelt. Ozeankind war auch zeitgleich auf Bali, in Portugal, in Griechenland, in Frankreich, in der Schweiz, in den Niederlanden, in Österreich und quer verteilt in Deutschland. Gemeinsam haben wir an diesen beiden Tagen 763,89 kg Müll aus der Natur entfernen können und es jeweils bestmöglich entsorgt. Wieder mal ein voller Erfolg und ohne Euch alle wäre das nicht möglich. DANKE!

Ozeankind in DüsseldorfOzeankind in Düsseldorf

Nach dem CleanUp ist vor dem CleanUp

Im Mai gibt es selbstverständlich einen neuen Termin. Gemeinsam mit dem Travel Festival werden wir mit Unterstützung vom blue:beach und der Surfschule Westufer am Sonntag am Kemnader See Müll sammeln. Hier kommst du zur Facebook-Veranstaltung. Klicken und zusagen. Wie alles funktioniert findest du in der Beschreibung unserer Veranstaltung.

 

Teile diesen Beitrag mit der Welt

Ähnliche Beiträge

Clean-Up auf den Malediven – Plastikmüll überall

Marina

2. #plastikrebell CleanUp – weltweit Plastikmüll sammeln

Marina

CleanUp mit Sharkproject

Marina

Wir verwenden Kekse (Cookies), um unsere Seite noch verbessern zu können und um Dir das bestmögliche Nutzererlebnis bieten zu können. Wir möchten Dir aber die Entscheidung überlassen, ob wir auch wirklich Kekse (Cookies) verwenden dürfen. Ich mag Kekse (Cookies), also erlaube ich Euch die Nutzung. Mehr Infos